Roberts & Stevens attorneys recognized in Business North Carolina’s 2024 Legal Elite

Roberts & Stevens is pleased to announce that 10 of the firm’s attorneys have been selected by their peers for inclusion in the 2024 Business North Carolina Legal Elite, a listing of the state’s best attorneys in their fields. The attorneys recognized by this year’s annual publication are: Vincent D. Childress, Jr., William Clarke, Ann-Patton Hornthal, Mary Robinson Hervig, Gregory D. Hutchins, Kathryn Maultsby Madison, Dennis L. Martin, Jr., John D. Noor and Gracie K. Paulson.

For more than two decades, Business North Carolina has invited active members of the N.C. State Bar to vote for their most-esteemed peers. Attorneys cannot vote for themselves nor for members of the Legal Elite Hall of Fame, which is made up of top vote-getters of each category from previous years. This year, only 3% of the state’s 28,000 active attorneys were selected for Legal Elite recognition.

Vincent D. Childress, Jr., a partner of Roberts & Stevens, is recognized this year in the Business category. With more than 35 years in practice areas of business and corporate law, trust and estate planning and probate, and healthcare law, Childress has significant experience handling entity formation, mergers and acquisitions, business financing, corporate contracts, tourism and healthcare organizations.

William Clarke, a partner with the firm, is a member of the Legal Elite Hall of Fame in the Environment category. He focuses on environmental permitting and compliance, environmental and administrative litigation, water quality issues and the representation of local governments on environmental matters.

Ann-Patton Hornthal and Dennis L. Martin, Jr., both partners with the firm, are each recognized in the Litigation category. Hornthal represents clients in litigation and pre-litigation matters in the commercial, professional liability and personal injury setting. She regularly practices in state and federal courts, appellate courts and before licensing boards.

Martin handles a broad range of litigation matters focusing on fiduciary litigation involving wills, trusts, and estates. He also represents clients in catastrophic personal injury cases and wrongful death actions.

Mary Robinson Hervig, a partner with the firm, is recognized in the Tax & Estate Planning category. Hervig helps clients with advance medical directives, powers of attorney, wills and trusts, including tax planning as necessary, and is a Bar Certified Specialist in estate planning and probate law.

Gregory D. Hutchins is recognized in the Business category. A partner with Roberts & Stevens, Hutchins handles corporate law, business transactions, commercial real property, estate planning and administration, healthcare and taxation.

Kathryn Maultsby Madison is recognized in the Real Estate category. A partner with Roberts & Stevens, Madison represents first-time home buyers, developers and nonprofits in complex real estate matters.  She assists clients in traditional purchase and sale transactions, reviewing and drafting easement agreements, and restrictive covenants.

John D. Noor, a partner with the firm, is recognized in the Antitrust category. Noor regularly litigates complex business, antitrust and commercial cases, in addition to environmental and real property disputes. Noor regularly appears before administrative bodies and trial and appellate courts throughout North Carolina.

Gracie K. Paulson, a partner with the firm, is recognized in the Young Guns category. Paulson represents buyers and sellers in complex commercial and residential real estate transactions.

In addition, the firm proudly notes that Wyatt S. Stevens has been recognized posthumously in the litigation category.  Wyatt was previously honored as part of Business North Carolina’s Legal Elite in 2021, 2022, and 2023.

Business North Carolina magazine has honored Tar Heel lawyers in this way since 2002, giving the state’s lawyers an opportunity to support and recognize their peers. Business North Carolina’s Legal Elite is the only award that gives every active lawyer in the state the opportunity to participate.